Key Legislative Committees

Key Legislative Committees

Click on the Legislator’s name for complete contact information.

Appropriations Committees



President Pro Tempore Phil Berger – Guilford and Rockingham

Appropriations/Base Budget Committee

Senator Harry Brown (Co-Chairman) – Jones and Onslow
Senator Kathy Harrington (Co-Chairman) – Gaston
Senator Brent Jackson (Co-Chairman) – Duplin, Johnston and Sampson

Appropriations Committee on General Government/Information Technology

Senator Jim Davis (Co-Chairman) – Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon and Swain
Senator Norman W. Sanderson (Co-Chairman) – Carteret, Craven and Pamlico
Senator Andrew C. Brock – Davie, Iredell and Rowan
Senator Josh Stein – Wake
Senator Jeff Tarte – Mecklenburg
Senator Mike Woodard – Caswell, Durham and Person



Speaker Tim Moore – Cleveland

Appropriations Committee

Representative Nelson Dollar (Senior Chairman) – Wake
Representative Linda P. Johnson (Chairman) – Cabarrus
Representative Donny Lambeth (Chairman) – Forsyth
Representative Chuck McGrady (Chairman) – Henderson

Appropriations Sub-Committee on General Government

Representative Rayne Brown (Chairman) – Davidson
Representative George Cleveland (Chairman) – Onslow
Representative Dennis Riddell (Chairman) – Alamance
Representative Mark Brody (Vice-Chairman) – Anson and Union
Representative Susan Fisher (Vice-Chairman) – Buncombe
Representative Elmer Floyd (Vice-Chairman) – Cumberland
Representative Larry G. Pittman (Vice-Chairman) – Cabarrus
Representative Gale Adcock – Wake
Representative John Ager – Buncombe
Representative Joe Sam Queen – Haywood, Jackson and Swain
Representative Sam Watford – Davidson


Education Committees


Senate Education Committee


Co-Chairman: Sen. Dan Soucek Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Watauga
Co-Chairman: Sen. Jerry W. Tillman Moore, Randolph
Vice Chairman: Sen. David L. Curtis Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln
Members: Sen. Tom Apodaca Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania
Sen. Chad Barefoot Franklin, Wake
Sen. Tamara Barringer Wake
Sen. Stan Bingham Davidson, Montgomery
Sen. Harry Brown Jones, Onslow
Sen. Angela R. Bryant Halifax, Nash, Vance, Warren, Wilson
Sen. Ben Clark Cumberland, Hoke
Sen. Bill Cook Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Dare,
Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans
Sen. Warren Daniel Burke, Cleveland
Sen. Don Davis Greene, Lenoir, Pitt, Wayne
Sen. Valerie P. Foushee Chatham, Orange
Sen. Fletcher L. Hartsell, Jr. Cabarrus, Union
Sen. Joyce Krawiec Forsyth, Yadkin
Sen. E. S. (Buck) Newton Johnston, Nash, Wilson
Sen. Louis Pate Lenoir, Pitt, Wayne
Sen. Ronald J. Rabin Harnett, Johnston, Lee
Sen. Gladys A. Robinson Guilford
Sen. Bob Rucho Mecklenburg
Sen. Jane W. Smith Columbus, Robeson
Sen. Josh Stein Wake
Sen. Jeff Tarte Mecklenburg
Sen. Trudy Wade Guilford
Sen. Andy Wells Alexander, Catawba
Sen. Mike Woodard Caswell, Durham, Person


House Education Committee (K-12)


Chairman: Representative Jeffrey Elmore Alleghany, Wilkes
Chairman: Representative D. Craig Horn Union
Chairman: Representative Linda P. Johnson Cabarrus
Vice Chairman: Representative Tricia Ann Cotham Mecklenburg
Vice Chairman: Representative Edward Hanes, Jr. Forsyth
Members: Representative John Ager Buncombe
Representative Rob Bryan Mecklenburg
Representative George G. Cleveland Onslow
Representative Jimmy Dixon Duplin, Wayne
Representative Jean Farmer-Butterfield Pitt, Wilson
Representative Susan C. Fisher Buncombe
Representative Rick Glazier Cumberland
Representative Charles Graham Robeson
Representative Jon Hardister Guilford
Representative Pat B. Hurley Randolph
Representative Frank Iler Brunswick
Representative Bert Jones Caswell, Rockingham
Representative Donny Lambeth Forsyth
Representative James H. Langdon, Jr. Johnston
Representative Chris Malone Wake
Representative Graig R. Meyer Durham, Orange
Representative Larry G. Pittman Cabarrus
Representative Bobbie Richardson Franklin, Nash
Representative Dennis Riddell Alamance
Representative Paul Stam Wake
Representative Rena W. Turner Iredell
Representative Chris Whitmire Henderson, Polk, Transylvania


The Legislative Process

It is important to understand how decisions are made and who can influence those decisions at the North Carolina General Assembly.

This section includes Representatives and Senators who are at the core of the budget process. Every two years, North Carolina adopts a biennium budget. The Governor presents his/her budget to the General Assembly, and Legislative Committees typically begin with those recommendations as a starting point.

Grants funding for the North Carolina Arts Council is proposed within the Department of Cultural Resources budget. Cultural Resources is one of 16 agencies included in the General Government Committee.

The House and the Senate rotate starting the budget every two years. The House and Senate General Government Committees often meet jointly to hear presentations from the agencies, then work independently to create a budget. The Committees’ recommendations are presented to the “big chairs” that make the final budget recommendation. Amendments can be made once the budget is presented but before it is adopted. Those items which are not in agreement in the House and Senate budgets are referred to a Conference Committee for resolution.

While the following key legislators are directly involved in arts funding, it is imperative for advocates to develop relationships with all Legislators. Issues are often discussed in party caucus and any Legislator can influence the outcome.

How to use the information: The contact pages include Raleigh and local addresses and phone numbers, email addresses, and social media links. The pages also include grants funding histories for a specific county so that programs can be noted when communicating with legislators. These pages can be distributed to advocates to assist in citizen advocacy.